To download a pdf version of this press release, please click here.
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
April 13, 2020
Theresa Barrows, Director of Marketing
Montpelier - The Vermont Department of Liquor and Lottery, Division of Liquor Control will allow alcohol licensees to accept expired Vermont driver’s licenses or identification cards that expired on or after March 13, 2020 as an acceptable form of identification. This decision aligns with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles as DMV offices are closed because of the COVID-19 public health crisis preventing individuals from renewing their driver’s license or ID cards.
This temporary exception only applies to driver licenses and identification cards issued by the State of Vermont. This exception will remain in place while the Governor's Executive Order 01-20 remains in effect.
On March 13, 2020, Governor Scott issued an emergency declaration due to the Covid-19 outbreak. On March 16, 2020, the Governor announced DMV will be extending license and registration renewals for 90 days beyond their effective expiration date beginning March 13, 2020. If an individual’s permit, temporary license or permanent license and/or registration has expired since March 13, 2020 law enforcement officers should honor a 90-day waiver of those credential expiration dates. Once the state of emergency is resolved a follow-up bulletin will be sent out.
It is important to note and to relay to the public that they can now go online for license renewals or may mail in their license renewals. Governor Phil Scott and the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) announced on Friday the official launch of a new online system for license renewals. This new service comes at a critical time for Vermonters and dovetails with the Governor’s March 18 directive for the DMV to transition to online, mail and phone transactions to reduce the spread of COVID-19.
The DMV strongly encourages Vermonters to renew online using the simple form. Renewal notices will continue to be mailed to all license holders and will include the URL for the online service and a unique PIN needed for the online form. The online renewal form can be found at mydmvlicense.vermont.gov/ with online support available through the DMV website.
About the Vermont Department of Liquor and Lottery, Division of Liquor Control (DLC)
The mission of the Vermont Department of Liquor and Lottery, Division of Liquor Control is to serve the public by encouraging responsible consumption and preventing the misuse of beverage alcohol and tobacco through the controlled distribution, education and licensing of sellers, as well as the wise use of enforcement. The Department works to provide excellent customer service in conjunction with our Agency Partners to operate efficient, convenient, and profitable liquor stores. All profits from the DLC’s operations are contributed to the State of Vermont’s General Fund with over $300,000,000 being contributed since 2000.