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SOLICITOR 

IN HOUSE TRAINING MANUAL 

Everyone who works in the 

preparation, sale, service 

or enforcement of alcohol 

and tobacco laws, in a 

business, is required to be 

trained before they begin 

working and must be      

retrained every two    

years.   

- Education Regulation  

Information covered:   

 
• Regulations  

• Guidance Bulletin 

• Tastings and Promotions 

• Civil Liability 

• Acceptable IDs 

 

EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS 

All solicitors must be at least 18 years old and employed by 

licensed wholesale dealers or manufacturers.  

TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

Solicitors are required to be trained in order to be licensed and 

must be retrained every two years. A Solicitor’s Permit is issued 

to the individual solicitor and if that solicitor is not properly 

trained, their license, as well as the wholesaler they work for, will 

receive a penalty. Your Vermont Department of Liquor and 

Lottery (DLL) Certified Trainer will complete this in-house training 

with you. This certification, unlike DLL in-person or DLL on-line 

trainings, is not transferable. 

TRAINING CERTIFICATES 

Electronic or printed copies of training certificates must be 

available upon request. Solicitors should have their license and 

their certification on them at all times. 
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FOLLOWING THE 

RULES 

Certain violations will result   

in a fine for the business.   

Businesses will be issued a 

ticket which they must 

respond to within 10 days. 

 

The DLL’s Office of Education created this booklet to provide the basic rules an  employee would need 

to know to do their job. This material only trains you for this job. It does not transfer to any other  

business.  The Office of Education provides in-person trainings and online training for those who wish to 

take it.  Education is important, you must be trained before you start and re-trained every two years. 

Employees need to make sure there are no violations of Title 7 regulations or laws. If there are        

problems they must be corrected quickly.  Knowing what you should do in the case of any problem is 

important.  How do you handle issues within your business?  This booklet will provide you with the basic 

rules you need to know, but it is important to talk with your employer for specific company policies that 

are in addition  to this book. 

It is the DLL’s Office of Compliance and Enforcement that is charged with investigating possible        

violations of liquor laws and regulations, and carrying out law enforcement activities related to these 

incidents. Comprising of a team of law enforcement investigators and  supporting staff, and working 

closely with other law enforcement  agencies, this division  protects the public safety and ensures that 

laws and regulations are followed. 

The Department of Liquor and Lottery Board 

is made up of 5 members appointed by the 

Governor. They preside over all hearings and 

work with the legislative body to create     

Vermont’s Regulations. This booklet contains 

many, but not all of the rules and laws that 

you will need to know to do your job.  A    

complete list of the Title 7 Regulations can 

be found  on the DLL website.   

Review this booklet with your DLL trained 

trainer and be sure to  discuss any company 

policies that your business has that makes it 

more restrictive than the laws.  You may 

want to watch the DLL In-house server 

training video for tips on carding and refusal 

skills as well.   

NOTES: 
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SOLICITORS  

SHALL NOT: 

Induce or coerce any      

wholesale dealer or retailer  

to accept delivery of any    

alcohol, any form of 

advertisement, or  any other 

commodity, which shall not 

have been ordered by a 

wholesale dealer 

 

Induce or coerce any    

wholesale dealer or retailer 

to do any illegal act or thing 

by threatening to cancel or 

terminate the franchise 

 

Induce or coerce any    

wholesale dealer or retailer 

to purchase product using 

any thing of value 

 

Fail or refuse to deliver 

promptly to  a wholesale  

dealer after the receipt of the 

order 

GUIDANCE BULLETIN 

Industry members may:  

• Purchase meals and beverages for a retailer. 

• Purchase tickets for a retailer to attend sporting events, concerts, 

plays or other entertainment events.  

• Cover the cost of greens fees, cart rental, and other fees at   

golfing events. 

• Must provide an electronic, itemized record of every “thing of 

value” on or before the 15th of July, October, January and April for 

previous 3 months uploaded to your licensee portal. The record 

must contain: Name of retailer; Date given or provided; Description 

of “thing of value;” Value of “thing of value.” 

• Must be in the company of retailer at the time of the event, and 

none of these shall exceed $250 per person per event. 

• Industry members may purchase gift certificates from retailers at 

fair market value. A record must be maintained by an industry 

member of: The type of gift certificate; Value; Name of person to 

whom certificate was given. Gift certificates may not be given to 

retailer and records must be kept for at least 2 years. 

• Draft systems must be sold at fair market value for the cost of 

parts and labor. A report on or before the 15th of July, October, 

January and April for the previous 3 months, must be sent 

including list of parts sold, cost of  labor to build, install and/or 

repair. 

• Industry members may, without prior approval, give printed, 

branded  promotional materials with or without retailers name on 

sign, coaster, outdoor table umbrellas, sandwich/menu/chalk 

boards, wine buckets/wine list covers. 

• Violations  can result in fines up to $2500 per violation along with 

possible suspension or revocation of licenses. 
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RETAIL TASTINGS  

A licensed manufacturer or rectifier 

of malt beverages, vinous beverages 

or ready-to-drink spirits beverages 

may hold tastings at a licensed 2nd 

class establishment with a permit 

obtained from the DLL at least 5 

days in advance of the event. 

The tasting can last for up to 6 

hours with no more than 6 

beverages offered at a single event. 

The beverages served must be 

produced by the manufacturer or 

rectifier. 

No more than 2 ounces of each 

beverage may be offered with no 

more than 8 ounces served to any 

customer.   

This will be without charge, by 

trained servers over the age of 18.   

No more than 8 customers at a time 

in the designated area.   

No more than 48 permits will be 

granted per year.  

No more than 1 tasting per day per 

store. 

A sign stating no one under the age 

of 21 may participate is required to 

be posted at the tasting. 

 

 

VISITING NEW APPLICANTS 
Solicitors may visit with new licensee applicants once the 

applicant has applied to the city or town. 
 

• Solicitors may  inform about products and prices. 

• Solicitors may solicit orders to be filled once license has 

been issued and received. 

PROMOTIONAL TASTINGS 
A manufacturer may complete a promotional tasting with a 

licensee and their employees. 

• Written notification of this event to the DLL is no longer 

required 

• All employees must be at least 21 years of age 

• For 1st or 2nd class licensees, you may serve up to two 

ounces per person of vinous, malt or ready-to-drink 

(RTD) spirits beverages 

• Ready-to-drink spirits beverages may not contain more 

than 12% alcohol by volume 

• For 3rd class licensees, you may serve up to one quarter 

ounce of each spirit or fortified wine to each person, but 

not more than a total of one ounce to each individual 

• Employees of the licensee are no longer required to be 

off duty for the remainder of the day to participate 

• No alcoholic beverages may be left behind 
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IMPAIRMENT 

In Vermont, alcohol may 

not be served or 

furnished to a person 

displaying signs of 

impairment from     

alcohol and/or other 

drugs or substances.   

No alcohol may be 

consumed on the licensed 

premises by any person 

displaying such signs of 

impairment.   

No person displaying       

signs of impairment shall   

be allowed to stay on the   

licensed premises.  

If a person seems like 

they are impaired, 

whether you know 

they’ve been drinking   

or not, you cannot serve 

them and they cannot 

stay if they show signs  

of impairment. 

Remember that signs of 

impairment may include 

staggering, swaying, 

slurred speech, glassy 

eyes, confused look,  

acting confused, delayed 

reactions. 

If a customer  appears to 

be impaired you must not 

serve alcohol to them.   

  

ALCOHOL AND THE BRAIN 
It is important to understand how alcohol works on the body. Alcohol is a 

sedative, depressant drug. When a person drinks alcohol it goes to the 

stomach and small intestines where it goes into a person’s bloodstream. 

After alcohol gets into the blood it goes throughout the rest of the body. A 

person’s brain uses a lot of blood; because of this a lot of the alcohol 

ends up affecting the brain. Alcohol puts certain parts of the brain to 

sleep. The more alcohol a person drinks, the more the brain goes to 

sleep. 

The first part of the brain that alcohol affects is the part that controls 

judgment and reasoning. As more alcohol is consumed, it begins to   

affect the part that controls muscles. This is when you see STUMBLING, 

STAGGERING and SLURRING. These are what  we refer to as APPARENT 

SIGNS OF IMPAIRMENT. If a person consumes more alcohol their vital 

functions can be affected. Too much alcohol could lead to death. 

A person can add alcohol to their body as fast as they can drink it, but it 

doesn’t leave that way. Most leaves the body through the liver 

(approximately 90%). A small amount leaves the body through a        

person’s breath and sweat (approximately 10%). A person can build up 

a tolerance to alcohol. A person who drinks alcohol on a regular basis 

learns how to manage it’s effects. It doesn’t mean they end up less 

drunk than someone else, it just means that they know how to hide the 

signs that they have been drinking. 

When it comes to alcohol, one drink doesn’t always mean one glass. 

Beer, wine and liquor all come in different “strengths.” A person 

drinking one 12 ounce beer that has 5% alcohol will be effected 

differently than if you give that same person a 12 ounce beer that has 

16% alcohol. That is almost triple the amount of alcohol in the same 

glass. Counting drinks and the alcohol in them is an important part of 

a servers/solicitors job. 
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MINORS 

Vermont law states that 

people under 21 cannot 

purchase, possess, or    

consume alcohol.   

 

A server of alcohol must be 

sure that the person is at 

least 21 years old before you 

serve them alcohol. If you 

serve alcohol to a person 

under the age of 21 you can 

be charged criminally.   

 

The law states that you 

personally can be held 

criminally responsible for 

serving to someone under 

the age of 21. There is  

also a General Regulation 

that states the business 

will be held responsible for 

serving someone under 

the age of 21 as well. 

 

Another regulation states 

that you must card anyone 

who is of questionable age. 

 

SERVING A MINOR 

No one can sell or give alcohol to a person under 21 and no one  

can allow a person under 21 to drink alcohol. 

The penalty for selling to a minor or enabling consumption by a    

minor is a fine of up to $2,000 or up to 2 years in jail, or both. 

In addition, if a person sells or provides alcohol to a minor or allows 

a minor to consume alcohol, and that minor, as a result of 

consuming the alcohol, causes death or serious bodily injury to 

anyone while operating a motor vehicle, the penalty becomes a  

felony with a fine of up to $10,000 or up to 5 years in jail.  

The only exception to the above law applies to servers/solicitors who 

furnish alcohol to a minor during the course of a compliance check 

performed by law enforcement. The penalty for a first offense is a 

$100 fine; the penalty for subsequent offenses can be as high as 

$500. The business also receives penalties when an employee fails 

a  compliance check by serving or selling to this minor. 

NOTES: 
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ACCEPTABLE 

FORMS OF ID 

 
• Valid Photo          

Driver’s License 

 

• Valid Photo          

Non-Driver’s ID 

 

• Valid Photo            

Enhanced Driver’s 

License issued  by 

any State or Foreign 

Jurisdictions 

 

• Valid US Military ID  

(any form) 

 

• Valid Passport  

 

• Valid Passport Card 

 

 

TEMPORARY IDS ARE 

NOT ACCEPTABLE 

VERIFYING A CUSTOMER’S AGE 

It is the law that you must ask for an ID if you think they are of       

questionable age. The ID must be a Valid, Photographic Acceptable form 

of ID. If they want to purchase alcohol or tobacco, they must be able to 

prove that they are of age. 

Compare the face in front of you to the one on the ID. Weight, hair and 

make-up can change. Height, eye shape and ear placement do not 

change. 

Look at the date of birth and expiration date. Don’t just glance. LOOK!  

Read them and do the math! It is illegal to serve a minor and you could 

go to JAIL!  READ the ID!   

Watch how the customer acts when you ask for their ID. Are they    

nervous or unsure? When you ask them questions about the information 

on the ID are they confident? If their behavior makes you suspicious 

refuse them. 

If there is a question about the ID, call your local authorities and give 

them all of the information on the ID. They can confirm it is valid and that 

all the information matches. If it is not valid or if any of the information 

does not match, Do NOT accept it! 

Sometimes you will not need to make the phone call, sometimes  simply 

telling the minor you are going to run their ID is enough to  make them 

run away. 

NOTES: 
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HOW TO USE ID CHECKING TOOLS 

In order to help you identify fake IDs, you can purchase tools like ID Checking Guides and UV lighted 

magnifiers. ID Checking guides should be replaced yearly to assure you have the most up to date       

information available. 

Minors using borrowed IDs and high quality fakes purchased over the internet can cause  big trouble to a 

business. If an employee isn’t taking the time to look carefully at IDs, a minor could get alcohol. This is a 

crime. Getting caught selling  to minors can ruin a business’s reputation, cause fines and penalties and 

increase risks for public safety. 

By using these tools and by brushing up on your refusal skills, you can help prevent underage     

drinking sales at your business.  Remember, carding customers is not only part of the job, it’s the 

law. 

Most guides contain images of driver’s licenses for all 50 states and the Canadian Provinces. Most also      

include images of Passports and Military IDs. That means you can find images of some of the acceptable 

forms of identification in the booklet. Please remember you can only accept a Valid Photographic Driver’s 

License, a Valid Photo Non-Driver’s ID, a Valid Photo Enhanced Driver’s License issued by any State or 

Foreign Jurisdictions; Valid US Military IDs and Valid Passports and Valid  Passport Cards. 

When someone hands you an out-of-state ID, open up your ID guide to that state. The sample IDs in           

the guide are the same size as the ID in your hand. Compare them. Read the written narrative. If there are 

any discrepancies, do not accept the ID and refuse the sale. 

The narrative may also include any micro printing which you can use a lighted magnifier to see. In the back 

of the guide you will see images of the  holograms you can see using your black light. Does it look the 

same in your hand as in the book?   

Taking the time and using the tools to check IDs properly may help you avoid making a costly mistake. 
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RENEWALS 
•    All licenses expire  one year 

after issuance. 

•    Use the online portal to 

renew. 

•    Be sure to renew in time for 

any town approvals to 

process. 

•    All of the information for the 

corporation must be up to 

date.   

•    Changes need to be 

submitted with the renewal 

application.  

•    Licensees must remain in 

compliance with the 

Departments of Health, 

Labor and Taxes as well as 

with the Secretary of State’s 

office. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ADDITIONAL REGULATIONS 

• No malt, vinous or ready-to-drink spirits beverages may be 

purchased on credit by any licensee. 

• All Point of Sale ads must be submitted to the DLL for 

approval. 

• Wholesalers must purchase only from approved Certificate 

of Approval Holders and Licensed Manufacturers. 

• NO malt, vinous or ready-to-drink spirits beverages can be 

returned from a retailer to a wholesale dealer unless they 

are of substandard packaging or quality, mis-ordered, out of 

code, out of business, or closing for the season. Permission 

from DLL is required except for beer in barrels. 

• You may stock, rotate and price products you sell at a retail 

establishment, but you are not allowed to alter or disturb 

other wholesaler’s products. 

• At least 2 years worth of the business records including but 

not limited to payroll, receipts and invoices must be kept on 

file. For businesses that employ a video surveillance system, 

DLL may examine such system or retained video footage. 

• Should a suspension be issued to the business, a notice of 

the suspension will be displayed in a conspicuous location 

viewable by the public. 

NOTES: 
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Check out our website at liquorcontrol.vermont.gov for the  

licensing portal and for all your education needs! 

Contact Us 

Vermont Department of Liquor and Lottery        (802) 828-2339 

1311 US Route 302               Email: DLL.DLCEduTeam@vermont.gov 

Suite 100                  Web: liquorcontrol.vermont.gov 

Barre,  VT 05641 

 


