
Please read the application requirements and license restrictions below to determine whether a direct 
shipping license is right for your business.

• In order to obtain a direct shipper, permit you must provide the following information
with your application.

• Application fee of $250.00 to be made payable to the Department of Liquor and Lottery.

• Valid copy of your manufacturing liquor license from the state in which your winery
is located.

License Requirements: 

• Ship no more than 100 gallons of vinous beverages per month to any single first or
second-class licensee.

• Retain a copy of each record of sale for a minimum of five years from the date of shipping.

• The retail shipping license holder shall provide to the Department of Liquor and
Lottery documentation of the annual and monthly number of gallons sold and the
monetary value of the total shipments. These forms can be found on the DLC website.
These forms should be sent to Department of Liquor and Lottery in January for the
previous year.

This license permits the holder, which includes the holder’s affiliates, franchises, and subsidiaries, to 
sell vinous beverages directly to first or second-class licensees and deliver the beverages by common 
carrier or the manufacturer’s or rectifier’s own vehicles, provided that the beverages are sold on 
invoice. 
Pay directly to the Commissioner of Taxes the amount of tax on the vinous beverages shipped. 
Delivery in Vermont by the holder of a license shall be deemed to constitute a sale in Vermont at 
the place of delivery and shall be subject to all excise and sales taxes levied by the State of Vermont. 

Permit the State Treasurer, the Department of Liquor and Lottery, and the Department of
Taxes, separately or jointly, upon request to perform an audit of the records of the holder of a 
license issued under this section. 

Be deemed to have consented to jurisdiction of the Department of Liquor and Lottery or any other
state agency and the Vermont state courts concerning enforcement of this or other related 
laws and regulations.  Not have any financial interest either directly or indirectly in a Vermont 
wholesale dealer or retail dealer, including a first, second or third-class license. 

Comply with all Department of Liquor and Lottery Laws and Regulations.

A common carrier shall not deliver vinous beverages until it has complied with the provisions 
of Title 7 V.S.A. Section 239(a) and (b) of this title and be certified by the Department of 
Liquor and Lottery. No employee of a common carrier shall deliver vinous beverages until
that employee completes the training required by Title 7 V.S.A. Section 239(c). Common carriers 
shall only deliver vinous beverages that have been shipped by the holder of a license issued 
under Title 7 V.S.A. Section 66. 

VERMONT DIRECT SHIPMENT OF VINOUS  BEVERAGES TO RETAILER LICENSE 
IN-STATE and OUT-OF-STATE 

Application Requirements:

Rev. 05/06/2020



Direct shipments of vinous beverages are prohibited if they are specifically authorized and in 
compliance with Title 7 V.S.A. Section 66. Any person who knowingly makes, participates in, 
imports, or receives such a shipment of vinous beverages from a person who is not 
licensed as required under Title 7 V.S.A. Section 66 may be fined not more than $1,000.00 or 
imprisoned no more than one year, or both. 

Any violation under Title 7, V.S.A. Section 66, the Board of Liquor and Lottery may suspend or
revoke a license, among all other remedies available to the Board. 

Contact Information 

To learn more about Vermont’s Direct Shipping law, please call or email the Department of 
Liquor and Lottery at 802-828-2339 or visit www.liquorcontrol.vermont.gov

Effective May 10, 2006.
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Direct to Retailer Shipping License Application 
for Vinous Beverages 

Individual Partnership          Corporation      LLC

Fill out our Personal Information Form to list the names and addresses of the 

business owners, partners, corporate officers, or LLC members, as appropriate. 

Please refer to Title 7 V.S.A. §66(c) for more information concerning Direct to Retail 

Shipping licenses.   

By filing this application, I consent to jurisdiction of the Department of Liquor and Lottery or any 
other state agency and the Vermont state courts concerning enforcement of this or other related 

laws and regulations and I agree to operate in Vermont under the requirements of Title 7 and all 

other applicable Vermont Laws and Regulations. 

By signing this, I,  acknowledge that all information provided is 

true and correct, and that I agree to meet the Vermont operating conditions specified above. 

Signature: 

Title: 

Mail completed application and application fee to: Vermont Department of Liquor and Lottery 
Education, Licensing & Enforcement Division 
13 Green Mountain Drive 
Montpelier, Vermont 05602 

Rev. 05/06/2020

Application Fee: $250.00
License Year: May 1st through April 30th of following Year.

Please check one: 

License Type 
in Your State:

License Number: 

Entity Name:

Trade Name: 

Federal ID Number: 

Telephone Number: 

Name:

Mailing Address: 

Business Location: 

Email Address:

https://liquorcontrol.vermont.gov/sites/dlc/files/documents/Licensing/Forms/Form_Personal_Information.pdf
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