
 
VERMONT DIRECT SHIPMENT OF VINOUS 

 BEVERAGES TO RETAILER LICENSE 
IN-STATE and OUT-OF-STATE 

 
Please read the application requirements and license restrictions below to determine whether a direct 
shipping license is right for your business.  
 
Application Requirements: 

 In order to obtain a direct shipper, permit you must provide the following information with 
your application.  

 Application fee of $250.00 to be made payable to the Department of Liquor Control. 

 Valid copy of your manufacturing liquor license from the state in which your winery is 
located.  

 
License Requirements: 

 Ship no more than 100 gallons of vinous beverages per month to any single first or second-
class licensee. 

 Retain a copy of each record of sale for a minimum of five years from the date of shipping. 

 The retail shipping license holder shall provide to the Department of Liquor Control 
documentation of the annual and monthly number of gallons sold and the monetary value of 
the total shipments. These forms can be found on the DLC website. These forms should be 
sent to Department of Liquor Control in January for the previous year. 

 
This license permits the holder, which includes the holder’s affiliates, franchises, and subsidiaries, to 
sell vinous beverages directly to first or second class licensees and deliver the beverages by common 
carrier or the manufacturer’s or rectifier’s own vehicles, provided that the beverages are sold on 
invoice. 
Pay directly to the Commissioner of Taxes the amount of tax on the vinous beverages shipped. 
Delivery in Vermont by the holder of a license shall be deemed to constitute a sale in Vermont at 
the place of delivery and shall be subject to all excise and sales taxes levied by the State of Vermont. 
 
Permit the State Treasurer, the Department of Liquor Control, and the Department of Taxes, 
separately or jointly, upon request to perform an audit of the records of the holder of a license 
issued under this section. 
 
Be deemed to have consented to jurisdiction of the Department of Liquor Control or any other state 
agency and the Vermont state courts concerning enforcement of this or other related laws and 
regulations.  Not have any financial interest either directly or indirectly in a Vermont wholesale 
dealer or retail dealer, including a first, second or third class license. 
 
Comply with all Department of Liquor Control Laws and Regulations. 
 
A common carrier shall not deliver vinous beverages until it has complied with the provisions of 
Title 7 V.S.A. Section 239(a) and (b) of this title and be certified by the Department of Liquor 
Control. No employee of a common carrier shall deliver vinous beverages until that employee 
completes the training required by Title 7 V.S.A. Section 239(c). Common carriers shall only deliver 
vinous beverages that have been shipped by the holder of a license issued under Title 7 V.S.A. 
Section 66. 
 
Direct shipments of vinous beverages are prohibited if they are specifically authorized and in 
compliance with Title 7 V.S.A. Section 66. Any person who knowingly makes, participates in, 



imports, or receives such a shipment of vinous beverages from a person who is not licensed as 
required under Title 7 V.S.A. Section 66 may be fined not more than $1,000.00 or imprisoned no 
more than one year, or both. 
 
Any violation under Title 7, V.S.A. Section 66, the Liquor Control Board may suspend or revoke a 
license, among all other remedies available to the Board. 
 
Contact Information  
 
To learn more about Vermont’s Direct Shipping law, please call or email the Department of Liquor 
Control at 802-828-2339 or visit www.liquorcontrol.vermont.gov 
  
 
Effective May 10, 2006.

http://www.liquorcontrol.vermont.gov/


 
Direct to Retailer Shipping 

License Application for Vinous 
Beverages 

 

Fee: $250.00  

License Year: May 1st through April 30th of following year. 

Please check one:  _____Individual  _____Partnership _____Corporation   _____ LLC 
 
STATE LICENSE TYPE:    _______________________________   
 
 LICENSE NUMBER:    ____________________________________  
 
CORPORATION NAME:             
 
TRADE NAME:              
 
FEDERAL ID NUMBER:    ______________________________   
 
Telephone number:      ______ 

 
NAME:             
 
MAILING ADDRESS:            
 
BUSINESS LOCATION:             
 
EMAIL ADDRESS   ________________________________________________  

 
List below or on the back of this form, the names and addresses of the business owners, 

partners, corporate officers, or LLC members, as appropriate. 
 
Please refer to Title 7 V.S.A. §66(c) for more information concerning Direct to Retail Shipping 
licenses.   
 
By filing this application, I consent to jurisdiction of the Department of Liquor Control or any other 
state agency and the Vermont state courts concerning enforcement of this or other related laws and 
regulations and I agree to operate in Vermont under the requirements of Title 7 and all other 
applicable Vermont Laws and Regulations. 
 
By signing this, I,       acknowledge that all information provided is 
true and correct, and that I agree to meet the Vermont operating conditions specified above. 
 
Signature:        _________________________ 
Title:        __________________________ _ 
 
Mail completed application and fee to:  Vermont Department of Liquor Control 

Education, Licensing & Enforcement Division 
13 Green Mountain Drive 
Montpelier, Vermont 05602 

 
Rev. 06/14/2016 
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