Updated May 2016
Vermont Department of Liquor Control

In-House Education Training Certificate
Alcohol and Tobacco Training

Date of Training: (expires 2 years from this date)

Employee First Name: Last Name:

Corporation/Partnership/Individual/LLC:

D/B/A (Business Name):

Address: Town/City:

I, , acknowledge that the above employee has watched the DLC training

Trainer’s Name (Print)

DVD, read the Seller or Server training booklet and taken and passed the test, certifying them to sell or serve alcohol
and tobacco at this business under the provisions of Education Regulation 3B.

Name of Trainer Date of Trainer’s DLC certification

Employee Name (Print) Employee Signature

This training certificate is NOT TRANSFERABLE to other businesses.

Education Regulation 3B reads: Each licensee shall ensure that every employee who is involved in the preparation, sale, service or solicitation of alcoholic beverages or the sale of
tobacco products, or enforcing of alcohol and/or tobacco laws and regulations must complete a training program offered or approved by the Department of Liquor Control before
the employee begins working in that capacity and at least once every two years thereafter. Each licensee shall maintain written documentation, signed by each employee trained of
each training program conducted. A licensee may comply with this requirement by conducting its own training program on its premises, using all information and materials
furnished by the Department of Liquor Control, or from a program approved by the department. A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements of this subsection shall
be subject to a suspension of no less than one day of the license issued under this title.

Education Regulation 3D reads: All records, and certificates, indicating that an employee has been trained must be kept on all licensed establishments at all times. Those training
records shall be available at all times and must be presented immediately to a Liquor Control Investigator or a Vermont Law Enforcement Officer if it is requested or
the licensee shall be subject to a suspension of no less than one day of the license issued under this title.




1.) Which of the following is NOT an acceptable form of identification for buying alcohol and/or tobacco?
a.) A Valid Vermont photographic operator’s license
b.) A valid passport
c.) A college ID card
d.) A Valid non-driver ID issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles in Alaska

2.) If a person comes into my establishment, tries to purchase alcohol and I notice that he is showing signs of intoxication, | MUST?
a.) Take down their name and address
b.) Make note of their clothing
c.) Call the police
d.) Refuse the sale

3.) Assume that today’s date is January 1, 2016 A person tries to buy alcohol and tobacco from you. You ask for her ID and it gives her date of birth as
November 15, 1997.

a.) She is old enough to buy both products, she is 21 or older

b.) She is old enough to buy tobacco, but not alcohol. She is over 18 but under 21.

c.) She is old enough to buy alcohol, but not tobacco.

d.) She is not old enough to purchase either, she is under 18.

4.) What is the penalty for selling alcohol to an underage person?
a.) | can be fined $500.00 to $2,000.00.
b.) I can go to jail for up to 2 years.
c.) The penalties can be greater if a person is injured in a car accident.
d.) All of the above

5.) If I serve/sell alcohol to someone who in showing signs of intoxication, and he injures himself or someone else, the injured person can sue:
a.) Nobody
b.) The person who sold or served the drinks
c.) The owner of the establishment
d)Bothb &c

6.) If I sell cigarettes to an underage person, the following can be a consequence:
a.) | can get a fine of $100.00
b.) The establishment gets and administrative penalty and/or license suspension.
c.) | get arrested.
d.)Botha&hb

7.) Do I have the right to refuse the sale of tobacco or alcohol to a customer?
a.) Yes
b.) No
If you got:
*All 7 correct, Congratulations
*If you got 1 or 2 questions wrong, please review the questions and check your answers
*If vou aot 3 or more auestions wrona. please take a few minutes to review the test with vour boss and consider attendina a Liauor Control Seminar.




Answers:

1.) C A college ID is not an acceptable form of ID in Vermont.

2.) D If a person is showing signs of intoxication in Vermont it is illegal to sell or serve them alcohol.
3.) B She turned 18 on November 15, 2015 and will turn 21 on November 15, 2018

4.) D You can face a fine, go to jail, or be sued.

5.) D The injured person can sue whoever served/sold the drinks as well as the owner of the business.
6.) D The seller will get a minimum fine of $100.00 and the business will face a penalty.

7.) A You have a right to refuse sale or service to anyone.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact your local investigator or the Department of Liquor Control Office
at (802)828-2339.




