
SOLICITOR’S TRAINING 

Everyone who works in 

the preparation, sale,   

service or enforcement of 

liquor laws in a business is 

required to be trained    

before the begin working 

and retrained  every      

two years.  Copies of    

certificates must be  kept 

by the business and   

available at inspection. 

- Education Regulation 3b & d 

Contact Us 

Give us a call for more         

information  

Vermont Department of     

Liquor Control 

13 Green Mountain Drive 

Montpelier, VT 05602 

(802)828-2339 

Visit us on the web at 

www.liquorcontrol.vermont.

gov 

 

All must be trained 

Requirements  
All solicitors must be at least 18 years old and employed by licensed wholesale 

dealers.  They are required to be trained in order to be licensed and retrained  

every two years.  The solicitor’s license is issued to the individual solicitor and if 

that solicitor is not properly trained, their license, as well as the wholesaler they 

work for will receive a penalty.   A DLC certified employee can train you with this 

booklet.  This certification, unlike DLC in-person or on-line trainings is not       

transferable to other businesses.   

Training Certificates 
Copies of training certificates for all employees must be kept on file and must      

be available upon request.   Solicitors should carry a copy of their license and their 

certification on them at all times. 

For employees of licensed Vermont Wholesalers   2016 



Solicitor’s Regulations: 

No Malt or Vinous beverages may be purchased on 
credit by any license. 

All Point of Sale ads must be submitted to the DLC     
for Approval. 

Wholesalers must purchase only from approved       
Certificate of Approval Holders and Licensed            
Manufacturers. 

NO Malt or Vinous product can be returned from a     
retailer to a wholesale dealer unless they are of        
substandard packaging or quality, miss-ordered, out    
of code, out of business, or closing for the season.   
Permission from DLC required except for beer in      
barrels. 

You may stock, rotate and price products you sell at a 
retail establishment, but you are not allowed to alter or 
disturb other wholesaler’s products. 

 

 

 

 

 

ALCOHOL      

CONTENT 

Maximum for vinous: 16% 

Maximum for malt: 16%  

Fortified Wines: 16-23%      
Fortified wines marked or labeled as 

cooking wine, but over 16% alcohol are 

not considered alcoholic beverages. 

Above 16% Sold as Liquor 

Under 0.1% is Non-Alcoholic 

 



  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prohibited      

Acts By Industry 

Members:  

•Induce or coerce any 

wholesale dealer or    

retailer to accept delivery 

of any alcohol, any form 

of ad, or any other     

commodity, which shall 

not have been ordered by 

a wholesale dealer 

•Induce or coerce any 

wholesale dealer  or   

retailer to do any         

illegal act or thing by 

threatening to cancel or 

terminate the franchise 

•Induce or coerce any 

wholesale dealer or    

retailer to purchase   

product using any thing  

of value 

•Fail or refuse to deliver 

promptly to a wholesale 

dealer after the receipt of 

the order. 

Licenses that violate    

this are subject to fines 

up to $2500 per violation 

and suspensions or    

revocation of the licenses 

may occur. 

 

Guidance Bulletin 
Industry members may:  

Purchase meals and beverages for retailer. 

Purchase tickets for retailer to attend sporting event, concerts, plays or   other 

entertainment events.  

Cover the cost of greens fees, cart rental, and other fees at golfing events,  

They must be in the company of retailer at the time of the event, and none of 

these shall exceed $250 per person per event. 

Must provide electronic, itemized record of every “thing of value” on or before the 

15th of July, October, January and April for previous 3 months.  The record must 

contain: Name of retailer;  Date given or provided;  Description of “thing of  

value”; Value of “thing of value”. 

May purchase gift certificates from retailers at fair market value.  A record must be 

maintained by an industry member of:  The type of gift certificate; Value; Name of 

person to whom certificate was given.  Gift certificates may not be given to retailer 

and records must be kept for at least 2 years. 

Draft systems must be sold at fair market value for the cost of parts and labor. A  

report on or before the 15th of July, October, January and April, for previous 3 

months must be sent including list of parts sold; cost of labor to build, install and/or 

repair. 

Without prior approval give printed branded promotional signs with or without  

retailers name on sign, coaster, outdoor table umbrellas, sandwich/menu/chalk 

boards, wine  buckets/wine list covers. 

 

Violations of inducement  regulations can result in fines up to $2500 per  violation 

along with possible suspension or revocation of  licenses. 

 



 

 

 

NEW RETAIL              

ACCOUNTS 

Industry members may visit with new          

licensee  applicants. 

Applicant must have applied to town or city. 

Industry member may inform about products 

and prices. 

May solicit orders to be filled once license has 

been issued and received. 

PROMOTIONS            

& TASTINGS 

With 2 days written notice to the DLC a     

manufacturer may  complete a promotional 

tasting with a licensee and their  employees. 

The name of retailers being visited on a     

particular day must be provided. 

If the same retailers are regularly scheduled, 

only one notice need be given for  multiple 

dates.  Must provide new notices for any 

changes in schedule. 

Industry member carries list of those retailers 

and an invoice that contains product brands, 

sizes & amounts.  No alcoholic beverages 

may be left behind. 

ANNUAL LICENSE            

RENEWALS 
All licenses expire at Midnight on April 30 

each year.  All of your information for must be 

up to date with State.   Changes need to be 

submitted in  writing to the DLC. 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

MINORS 

Vermont law says that people under 

21 cannot purchase, possess, or 

consume alcohol.   

A seller or server of alcohol must be 

sure that the person is at least 21 

years old before you sell them   

alcohol.  If you sell alcohol to a  

person under the age of 21 you can 

be charged criminally.   

Along with the law that says you 

personally can’t sell to a person 

less than 21 years of age there is 

also a Liquor General Regulation 

that says you can’t sell to minors.   

Another regulation states that you 

must card anyone who is of     

questionable age must be carded. 

You may personally get a penalty 

but also the liquor license may be 

fined, suspended or revoked by the 

Vermont Liquor Control Board. 

 

SERVING A MINOR 
No one can sell or give alcohol to a person under 21 and no one can allow a 

person under 21 to drink alcohol. 

The penalty for selling to a minor or enabling consumption by a minor is a 

fine of up to $2000 and up to 2 years in jail, or both. 

In addition, if a person sells or provides alcohol to a minor or allows a minor 

to consume alcohol, and that minor, as a result of consuming the alcohol, 

causes death or serious bodily  injury to anyone while operating a motor  

vehicle, the penalty  becomes a felony with a fine of up to $10,000 or up to 5 

years in jail.  

The only exception to the above law applies to  servers who furnish alcohol 

to a minor during the course of a compliance check performed by law       

enforcement. The penalty for a first offense is a $100 fine; the penalty for 

subsequent offenses can be as high as $500.   The business also receives 

penalties when an employee fails a compliance check by serving or selling to 

this minor. 



 DRAM SHOP/CIVIL LIABILITY 

The so-called “Dram Shop Law” allows certain  

people who are injured to get  money damages 

from the person who served the alcohol.  A person 

can get money damages if you serve or sell alcohol 

to a minor; serve alcohol to a customer who is     

already under the influence of alcohol, serve or sell 

alcohol after legal hours, serve alcohol to someone 

who would be under the  influence of alcohol as a  

result of the amount of alcohol that they were 

served.  You should never serve  an  unreasonable 

amount of  alcohol to a person.  If that person you 

serve damages person, place or property then the 

people effected can  sue you, your manager, the 

owner and their partners. If you are doing your job, 

and following all the liquor laws, you will not need to 

worry about being sued. 

 

 

LOG BOOKS and                     

INCIDENT REPORTS 

It is helpful to know and follow the liquor laws so 

you can avoid these types of problems.  It may be  

a good idea to keep a personal log of any unusual 

things that may happen.  The log should include the 

name and/or description of the  customer and a 

brief write-up of what happened. Dram shop       

lawsuits can  be filed up to two years from the date 

of the incident.   Because most  people can’t       

remember what they did two years ago, it is best to 

write down  the  information for you to refresh your 

memory later.   It is important for the server to keep 

his or her own log, so if you move onto another job 

later you can take it with you. 

 

 



Acceptable 
Form of 
IDs 

 

Valid         

Photographic 

Driver’s        

License 

Valid          

Non-Driver’s 

License 

Valid           

Enhanced 

Driver’s        

License         

issued by    

any State or 

Foreign       

Jurisdictions. 

Valid US     

Military ID  

(any form) 

Valid Passport  

Valid Passport 

Card 

 

CARDING CUSTOMERS 
 

The ID must be Valid, must be  Photographic and you must 
ask if you think they are of questionable age.  Remember,          
it is the law that you must ask their ID.  If they want to    
purchase alcohol, they must be able to prove that they are  
of age 

Compare the face in front of you to the one on the ID.  

Weight, hair and makeup can change.  Height, eye shape  

and ear placement do not change. 

Look at the date of birth and expiration date.  Don’t just 
glance.  LOOK!  Read them and do the math!  It is illegal to 
serve a minor and you could go to JAIL!  READ the ID!   

Ask the person how old they are, and compare that to the       

information on their ID.  Ask the person to spell their last 

name.  Ask the person what their  middle initial stands for.  

Ask the person what year they graduated from high school.  

Have the person sign their name and compare it to the      

signature on the ID.  

Call  your local  authorities and give them all the information 

on the ID.  They can confirm it is valid and that all the         

information matches.  If it is not valid or if any of the            

information does not match….        Do NOT accept it! 

Sometimes you will not need to make the phone call,        

sometimes simply telling the minor you are going to run their 

ID is enough to make them run away. 

What do you do next?  Call the police, your manager… write 

this  incident in the business’s log book.   

If the minor leaves the ID with you, please fill out the DLC ID 

Envelope and  drop them in the mail. 

 

 

. 



 How to Use an ID Checking Kit 

In order to help you identify fake IDs,  you can purchase a Vermont Department                   

of  Liquor Control  ID  Checking Kit.  In this kit you will find the most recent  ID 

Checking Guide, a UV lighted magnifier and envelops for mailing abandoned ID’s to 

the DLC.  Please remember that ID Checking guides need to be replaced yearly to 

assure you have the most up to date information available. 

Minors using borrowed IDs and high quality fakes purchased over the internet can 

cause  big trouble to a business.  If an employee isn’t taking the time to look       

carefully at IDs,  a minor could get alcohol.  This is a crime.  The DLC is dedicated   

to helping you prevent    underage drinking sales which can negatively impact the 

business.  Getting caught selling  to minors can ruin a business’s reputation, cause 

fines and penalties and increase risks for public safety. 

By using the tools in the ID Checking Kit and by brushing up on your refusal skills,  

you can help prevent underage drinking sales at your business.   Remember, carding 

customers is not only part of the job, it’s the law.  . 

The guide contains images of driver’s licenses for all 50 states and the Canadian      

provinces.  It also includes images of Passports and Military IDS.  That means you 

can find  images of all of the acceptable forms of Identification in this booklet.  You 

will also find  other forms of Identification, not acceptable for alcohol and tobacco in 

the State of Vermont.   Please remember you can only accept a Valid Photographic 

Driver’s License, a Valid Photo Non-Driver’s   License, a Valid Photo Enhanced   

Driver’s License issued by any State or Foreign Jurisdictions; Valid US Military IDs 

and Valid Passports and Valid Passport Cards. 

When someone hands you an out of State ID, open up your ID guide to that state.  

The sample IDs in the guide are the same size as the ID in your hand.  Compare 

them.  Read the written narrative.  If there are any discrepancies, do not accept the 

ID and refuse the sale. 

The narrative may also include any micro printing which you can use lighted        

magnifier to see.  In the back of the guide you will see images of the holograms you 

can see using your black light.   Does it look the same in your hand as in the book? 

ID kits can be purchased through the Department.  The order form is on the website. 

 

 

 




