
IN-HOUSE TRAINING 

Everyone who works in 

the preparation, sale,   

service or enforcement 

of liquor laws in a    

business is required to 

be trained   before the 

begin working and    

retrained  every  two 

years.  Copies of      

certificates must be  

kept by the business 

and   available at      

inspection. 

- Education Regulation        

3b & d 

A one day permit   

only for   

 

Libraries 

Museums 

Art Gallery 

Bookstore 
 

Requirements  

Serving alcohol in a public establishment requires a licensed caterer  

or in the case of certain establishments, a permit.  In order to get a  

permit to serve alcohol at your Art Gallery, Bookstore, Museum or    

Library for an event,  an Owner, Partner,  Director or Manager  must be 

trained at a DLC In-Person or On-Line Training.    This  trained person 

can train others using this packet which is only good at this business 

with the permit.  All servers must be trained.  Copies of the certificates 

must be filled out and kept were easily accessible during the event. 

Paperwork Requirements 

The permit, the receipt for the alcohol at the event and the training  

certificates for all employees working the event must be available at 

the event.  Permit holders that do not following these requirements are 

subject to monetary penalties or may jeopardize the issuing of future 

permits. 

For serving at an event with a Library, Museum, Bookstore or Art Gallery Permit   2016 



Regulations to  
follow  

This permit allows you to conduct 

an event at which malt or vinous 

beverages are served by the glass 

to the public! 

This permit is good for an event up 

to 6 hours long on single day. 

There is no limit to the number of 

permits that can be purchased in a 

year. 

You can purchase the alcohol    

directly from a store in Vermont. 

Keep the receipt on file, with any 

other paperwork for this event for at 

least 2 years. 

You can charge for attendance to 

your event, however, you can not 

charge for the alcohol. 

You must follow all alcohol laws, 

including rules on intoxication, IDing 

customers and amounts of alcohol  

that can be served. 

The hours of your event are       

included on your permit application 

and must be within the legal state 

hours which are from 8am-2am.    

No alcohol may be served or     

consumed at the business outside 

of the hours on the permit. 

Malt beverages cannot be served in 

containers more than 32 ounces.  

There is no specific ounce limit for 

containers of wine served however, 

no more than 2 containers can be 

served to a customer at any one 

time.   

Customer’s cannot be served    

more than a reasonable amount of 

alcohol.  That means that even 

though the law says they can be 

served and consume two 32 ounce 

glasses of beer, allowing your    

customer to consume 64 ounces of 

beer during your event is an      

unreasonable amount .  Even if 

your customer does not show signs 

of intoxication, we expect that they 

are, in fact intoxicated. 

 

Intoxication 

Vermont has regulations about serving customers who look like they 
are under the influence.  There are also rules about serving customers 
to the point of intoxication. Wanting customers to be able to enjoy the 
event and having responsible alcohol service is important.  Serving a 
customer alcohol means that you and the business has taken on the 
responsibility for what happens to that customer that you served.   

Understanding how alcohol effects the body, moving from dulling    
reason to impacting muscle control is important for anyone who  
serves alcohol.  Behavior cues can be a sign impairment and  stum-
bling, staggering and slurred speech are often much clearer signs that 
a server can notice while interacting with customers.  Knowing that 
seeing signs of impairment is a sign that the customer could be a   
danger to themselves or someone else is important.  Interacting with 
customers before, during and after serving allows you to observe. The  
responsibility falls on the business that is serving.  Being aware that 
alcohol effects individuals differently, that in the short time they are    
at your event, drinking should not be the focus and that you do not 
want to risk your livelihood. 

A complete list of the regulations for about the sale and service of  
alcohol can be found on the liquor control website. 



 

 

 

 

 

 

MINORS 

Vermont law says that people under 

21 cannot purchase, possess, or 

consume alcohol.   

A server of alcohol must be sure 

that the person is at least 21 years 

old before you serve them   alcohol.  

If you sell alcohol to a  person   

under the age of 21 you can be 

charged criminally.   

Along with the law that says you 

personally can’t sell to a person 

less than 21 years of age there is 

also a Liquor General Regulation 

that says you can’t sell to minors.   

Another regulation states that you 

must card anyone who is of     

questionable age must be carded. 

You may personally get a penalty 

but also the business may be fined 

or become ineligible for future    

permits. 

 

SERVING A MINOR 

No one can sell or give alcohol to a person under 21 and no one can 

allow a person under 21 to drink alcohol. 

The penalty for selling to a minor or enabling consumption by a minor 

is a fine of up to $2000 and up to 2 years in jail, or both. 

In addition, if a person sells or provides alcohol to a minor or allows    

a minor to consume alcohol, and that minor, as a result of consuming 

the alcohol, causes death or serious bodily  injury to anyone while  

operating a motor  vehicle, the penalty  becomes a felony with a fine of 

up to $10,000 or up to 5 years in jail.  

The only exception to the above law applies to  servers who furnish 

alcohol to a minor during the course of a compliance check performed 

by law       enforcement. The penalty for a first offense is a $100 fine; 

the penalty for subsequent offenses can be as high as $500.   The 

business also receives penalties when an employee fails a compliance 

check by serving or selling to this minor. 



 DRAM SHOP/CIVIL LIABILITY 

The so-called “Dram Shop Law” allows certain  people who are injured to get      

money  damages from the person who served the alcohol.  A person can get money  

damages if you:   Serve alcohol to a minor, serve alcohol to a person who showing 

signs of intoxication, serve outside the legal hours or if you serve unreasonable 

amounts of alcohol to a person. 

If you serve in one of the circumstances above and that  person damages person, 

place or property then the people effected can  sue.  They can sue the person who 

served them, the manager of the business, the owner and their partners. If you are 

following all the liquor laws, you will not need to worry about being sued.  This lawsuit 

can be filed up to 2 years from the date of the incident.  Keep files from your event 

for at least 2 years for legal purposes. 

 

LOG BOOKS and INCIDENT REPORTS 

It is helpful to know and follow the liquor laws so you can avoid these types of     

problems.  It may be  a good idea to keep a log of things that happen during your 

event.  If something unusual happens you should write it down.  The notes should 

include the name and/or description of the people involved and a brief   write-up of 

what happened.  Dram shop lawsuits can  be filed up to 2 years from the date of the 

incident.  Most people can’t remember what they did two years ago.  It is best to write 

down the  information for you to refresh your memory later.   The DLC has sample 

incident reports on our website. 

 



Acceptable 
Form of IDs 

 

Valid             

Photographic 

Driver’s  License 

Valid  Non-

Driver’s ID 

Valid  Enhanced 

Driver’s  License         
issued by  any State or 

Foreign  Jurisdictions. 

Valid U.S.      

Military ID        
(must have their     

date-of-birth) 

Valid Passport  

Valid Passport 

Card 

 

CARDING CUSTOMERS 
 

The ID must be Valid, must be  Photographic and you must 
ask if you think they are of questionable age.  Remember,          
it is the law that you must ask their ID.  If they want to    
purchase alcohol, they must be able to prove that they are   
of age 

Compare the face in front of you to the one on the ID.  

Weight, hair and makeup can change.  Height, eye shape  

and ear placement do not change. 

Look at the date of birth and expiration date.  Don’t just 
glance.  LOOK!  Read them and do the math!  It is illegal to 
serve a minor and you could go to JAIL!  READ the ID!   

Ask the person how old they are, and compare that to the       

information on their ID.  Ask the person to spell their last 

name.  Ask the person what their  middle initial stands for.  

Ask the person what year they graduated from high school.  

Have the person sign their name and compare it to the       

signature on the ID.  

Call  your local  authorities and give them all the information 

on the ID.  They can confirm it is valid and that all the         

information matches.  If it is not valid or if any of the            

information does not match….        Do NOT accept it! 

Sometimes you will not need to make the phone call,        

sometimes simply telling the minor you are going to run their 

ID is enough to make them run away. 

What do you do next?  Call the police, your manager… write 

this  incident in the business’s log book.   

If the minor leaves the ID with you, please fill out the DLC ID 

Envelope and  drop them in the mail. 

 

 

. 



 How to Use an ID Checking Kit 

In order to help you identify fake IDs,  you can purchase a Vermont Department                   

of  Liquor Control  ID  Checking Kit.  In this kit you will find the most recent  ID 

Checking Guide, a UV lighted magnifier and envelops for mailing abandoned ID’s to 

the DLC.  Please remember that ID Checking guides need to be replaced yearly to 

assure you have the most up to date information available. 

Minors using borrowed IDs and high quality fakes purchased over the internet can 

cause  big trouble to a business.  If an employee isn’t taking the time to look       

carefully at IDs,  a minor could get alcohol.  This is a crime.  The DLC is dedicated   

to helping you prevent    underage drinking sales which can negatively impact the 

business.  Getting caught selling  to minors can ruin a business’s reputation, cause 

fines and penalties and increase risks for public safety. 

By using the tools in the ID Checking Kit and by brushing up on your refusal skills,  

you can help prevent underage drinking sales at your business.   Remember, carding 

customers is not only part of the job, it’s the law.  . 

The guide contains images of driver’s licenses for all 50 states and the Canadian      

provinces.  It also includes images of Passports and Military IDS.  That means you 

can find  images of all of the acceptable forms of Identification in this booklet.  You 

will also find  other forms of Identification, not acceptable for alcohol and tobacco in 

the State of Vermont.   Please remember you can only accept a Valid Photographic 

Driver’s License, a Valid Photo Non-Driver’s   License, a Valid Photo Enhanced   

Driver’s License issued by any State or Foreign Jurisdictions; Valid US Military IDs 

and Valid Passports and Valid Passport Cards. 

When someone hands you an out of State ID, open up your ID guide to that state.  

The sample IDs in the guide are the same size as the ID in your hand.  Compare 

them.  Read the written narrative.  If there are any discrepancies, do not accept the 

ID and refuse the sale. 

The narrative may also include any micro printing which you can use lighted        

magnifier to see.  In the back of the guide you will see images of the holograms you 

can see using your black light.   Does it look the same in your hand as in the book? 

ID kits can be purchased through the Department.  The order form is on the website. 

 

 

 



Contact Us 

Give us a call for more         

information  

Vermont Department of     

Liquor Control 

13 Green Mountain Drive 

Montpelier, VT 05602 

(802)828-2339 

Visit us on the web at 

www.liquorcontrol.vermont.gov 

 

Permit Application 

You must apply for each permit no less than 5  

business days in advance.  Your town must        

approve your application before it is sent to the  

Department of Liquor Control with any fees         

attached.  Your event hours will be listed on this 

permit and alcohol is only served at your location 

during those hours.   

 

 

 

 




