STATE OF VERMONT
LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

IN RE: KNJ, INC. D/B/A KING’S CORNER DELI
41 KING STREET
BURLINGTON, VERMONT

ORDER

The Liquor Control Board (“Board”) held a Formal Hearing in Montpelier,
Vermont on April 1, 2015 to consider the suspension of Licensee, KNJ, Inc.’s Second
Class Liquor License for an alleged violation of Education Regulation No. 3(b), which

requires that:

Each licensee shall ensure that every employee who is involved in the
preparation, sale, service or solicitation of alcoholic beverages or the sale
of tobacco products, or enforcing of alcohol and/or tobacco laws and
regulations must complete a training program offered or approved by the
Department of Liquor Control before the employee begins working in that
capacity and at least once every two years thereafter. Each licensee shall
maintain written documentation, signed by each employee trained of each
training program conducted. A licensee may comply with this requirement
by conducting its own training program on its premises, using all
information and materials furnished by the Department of Liquor Control,
or from a program approved by the department. A licensee who fails to
comply with the requirements of this subsection shall be subject to a
suspension of no less than one day of the license issued under this title.

Jacob A. Humbert, Esq., Assistant Attorney General, appeared on behalf of the
Department of Liquor Control (“DLC”). Kathleen Ellen Donahue, owner, appeared on

behalf of Licensee.
FINDINGS
1. On February 8, 2015, DLC conducted a compliance test at Licensee’s
establishment.
2 Licensee’s employee, John Donohue, sold alcoholic beverages during this

compliance test.
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3. Mr. Donohue had not received training as required by Education Regulation No.
3(b) by that time.

4. Licensee testified and conceded each element of the alleged violation, namely that
its employee sold alcoholic beverages without having undergone the requisite
training.

o The Board finds unequivocally that licensee violated Education Regulation No.
3(b). Consistent with that Regulation, “a licensee who fails to comply with the
requirements of this subsection shall be subject to a suspension of no less than one

2

day of the license issued under this title.” Accordingly, a sanction of a one-day

suspension is mandatory.

ORDER

The Board hereby Orders that the Licensee’s liquor licenses be SUSPENDED for
a period of one (1) day to be served within 30 days of this order by mutual agreement of
the licensee and the Department. Further, all employees of Licensee shall be required to

appear, in person, for DLC training within three (3) months of this Order.
DATED at Montpelier, Vermont this %“& day of April 2015.

VERMONT LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

By: tehamin &M

‘Stephanie M. O’Brien, Chair

RIGHT TO APPEAL

Within 30 days after copies of this Order have been mailed, either party may appeal to the
Vermont Supreme Court by filing a Notice of Appeal with the Department of Liquor Control and
paying the requisite filing fee. See 3 V.S.A. § 815(a); V.R.A.P. 4 and 13(a).
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