OBTAINING A LIQUOR LICENSE
There are 18 Control States in this country of which Vermont is one. In large, control States have State Agencies that are in the business of importing, wholesaling and retailing spirituous and sometimes vinous beverages. Here in Vermont, we only import and distribute spirituous beverages as beer and wine were privatized at the end of prohibition. In addition to distributing spirits, the Vermont Department of Liquor Control is the only State agency tasked with the licensing of Manufacturers of malt and vinous beverages as well as Distillers of spirituous beverages, We also license Wholesale Dealers and retail businesses in addition to the enforcement of laws related to these areas. We are also responsible for providing mandatory training in order to obtain a license. For a list of the permits and licenses we offer, refer to the Quick Guide to Licenses and Permits.
If you are interested in obtaining a license to manufacture malt, vinous or spirituous liquors, or if you are looking to wholesale beer or wine or sell alcoholic beverages at the retail level, you will need to fill out the appropriate application for the type of business you wish to conduct in Vermont. Forms can be found by clicking on the application link.
WHATS NEW WITH LICENSING?
Fortified Wine Permits: January 1, 2016 the new Fortified Wine permits will be available to the first 150 Second class licensee holders who apply for this permit. These licenses will be valid for each licensing year they are applied for. The licenses will be renewable but must be sent in each year by May 1 in order to renew them for the following licensing year. Licensing years run May 1 through April 30 of each year.
Application Fees: As of July 1, 2013, licensing fees have changed. Click here for the new fees. There is also a new Industrial Alcohol License available. Please click on application forms at the top to find these new licenses as well as all of our other licenses. There are also new fees to obtain outside consumption and request to cater permits.
Direct Ship to Consumers: As of July 1, 2013, Malt Manufacturers can now Direct Ship Malt products directly to consumers. The new application is available under the application forms at the top.
Commercial Catering License: The Commercial Catering License consists of a First and/or Third Class Kitchen License and a Commercial Caters License. This allows caters licensed by the Health department as commercial caterers (not a restaurant, hotel, or caberet) to sell malt, vinous or spirits at a catered function. Licensees only need a commercial kitchen area and not a on premise dining area. Commercial Caterers will need to file a request to cater form in each town that they hold an event Those forms must be at DLC at least 5 days in advance of any event.
Art Gallery/Bookstore/Museum or Library Permit: This license allows the holder of the permit to serve wine and/or malt beverages at events held on the premise. These permits are for six hours only and there is no limit on how many an Art Gallery or Bookstore can get in a year. These licenses need the City/Town approval before coming to DLC and must be here at DLC at least 5 days before the event.
Second Class Licensee Holders: Second class licensee's can now ship vinous beverages out of state provided that the licensee follows the guidelines for importation of vinous beverages into that state. The law does not allow for shipping to consumers in state.